Skip to content

“It is necessary to respond to the globalisation of migration with the globalisation of charity and cooperation, in such a way as to make the conditions of migrants more humane."

- Pope Francis

Who We Are

Catholics for Refugees was formed out of a meeting of individuals, services and NGOs who came together to ask ourselves two questions: What more can we do to support those who come to us seeking protection? And what is the charism of the Catholic community in this dark chapter of Australia’s history? We believe we have much to offer and that working together will amplify the voices of all. We are proud to list all those who helped form this movement and ask that anyone and everyone who wants to be involved let us know so we can add your name below.

Fr. Peter Smith, Justice and Peace Promoter, Catholic Archdiocese of Sydney


Most Reverend Bishop Vincent Long Van Nguyen OFM Conv DD STL, Chair of the Australian Catholic Bishops Conference (ACBC) Commission for Social Justice – Mission and Service, Bishop of Parramatta


Most Reverend Bishop Greg O’Kelly SJ, Apostolic Administrator of the Archdiocese of Adelaide and Bishop of Port Pirie


Most Reverend Bishop Charles Gauci DD, Bishop of Darwin


Most Reverend Bishop Terence John Gerard Brady, Auxiliary Bishop of Sydney

Brother Peter Carroll FMS, President of Catholic Religious Australia (CRA); Provincial, Marist Brothers Province of Australia; Leader, Association of St. Marcellin Champagnat


Very Reverend Fr. Brian McCoy SJ, Provincial, Jesuit Province of Australia


Very Reverend Peter Jones OSA, Prior Provincial, Order of St. Augustine, Province of Australasia


Sr. Alice Foley OCD, Congregational Leader, Carmelite Nuns of Australia


Sr. Clare Nolan RSC, Congregational Leader, Sisters of Charity, Australia


Sr. Eveline Crotty, Institute Leader, Institute of Sisters of Mercy of Australia and PNG


Sr. Jan Barnett rsj, Josephite Justice Coordinator, Josephite Justice Network of Australia


Sr. Louise McKeogh FMA, Provincial, Salesian Sisters, South Pacific Region


Sr. Mary-Louise Petro, Congregational Leader, Sisters of Mercy Parramatta

Sr. Monica Cavanagh rsj, Congregational Leader, Sisters of St. Joseph of the Sacred Heart

Sr. Monica Walsh, Province Leader, Sisters of the Good Shepherd, Australia-Aotearoa/New

Sr. Patty Fawkner SGS, Provincial Leader, Sisters of the Good Samaritan, Australia


Sr. Stancea Vichie mss, Congregational Leader, Missionary Sisters of Service, Australia


Fr. Tom McDonough CP, Provincial Superior, Passionist Brothers of Australia


Fr. Brian Lucas, National Director, Catholic Mission


Dr. Cristina Lledo Gomez, Chair, Australian Catholic Social Justice Council (ACSJC)


Kirsty Robertson, Chief Executive Officer (CEO), Caritas Australia


Toby Hall, Group Chief Executive Officer, St. Vincent’s
Health Australia


Tamara Domicelj, Director, Jesuit Refugee Service (JRS) Australia; Co-Chair, Catholic
Alliance for People Seeking Asylum (CAPSA)


Julie Edwards, Chief Executive Officer (CEO), Jesuit Social Services; Co-Chair, Catholic Alliance for People Seeking Asylum (CAPSA)


Claire Victory, National President, St. Vincent De Paul Society National Council of Australia


Louise Miller Frost, Chief Executive Officer (CEO), St. Vincent De Paul Society (SA)


Jack de Groot, Chief Executive Officer (CEO), St. Vincent De Paul Society (NSW)


Joshua Lourensz, Executive Director, Catholic Social Services Victoria (CSSV)


Miriam Pellicano, Executive Manager, House
of Welcome


Sr. Brigid Arthur csb, Founder and Coordinator, Brigidine Asylum Seeker Project (BASP)

Brian Lawrence, Chairperson, Australian Cardijn Institute

Helen Forde, Chief Executive Officer (CEO), Jesuit Mission

Phil Glendenning, Director, Edmund Rice Centre (ERC)


Richard Haddock, Chair, Mary Aikenhead Ministries


Fergus Fitzsimons, Chief Executive Officer (CEO), Centacare New England NorthWest, The
Social Services Agency of the Catholic Diocese of Armidale


Rebecca Bromhead, Chief Executive Officer (CEO), Marist Solidarity Australia


Dr. Frank Malloy, National Director, Marist Schools Australia


Peter Loughnane, Chief Executive Officer (CEO), Catholic Care – Western Sydney and the Blue Mountains


Mark Phillips, Chief Executive Officer (CEO), Catholic Care – Sydney


John Lochowiak, Chairperson, National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Catholic Council (NATSICC)


Sr Louise Cleary csb, President, Australian Catholic Religious against Trafficking in Humans (ACRATH)


Sr Brigitte Sipa, Regional Leader, Sisters of St Joseph Centre West Region


Sr Mary Clare Holland OP, Prioress, Dominican Sisters of Eastern Australia and the Solomon Islands

Cath Garner, Group Director, Cabrini Outreach

Sue Williams, Chief Executive Officer,
Cabrini Health

Wendy Hildebrand ibvm, Province Leader, Loreto
Sisters Australia & S.E. Asia Province

Libby Rogerson ibvm, Member, Loreto Justice

Do you have a question we haven’t answered?

Send us an email at [email protected]